My Sci-Fi Con Expierience!

A long time ago, in a town far far away… I boldly went where I have never gone before, hoping that with every leap will be the last one home. (50 points to anyone who can gues the last reference.)

I’m a straight up geek. I ain’t gonna lie. I’m not ashamed of it either. Seth Cohen made it cool hip and sexy to be Sci-Fi inclined back in ’04 and I dare say I was proud of my nerdish leanings before then. If you stakeout the nearest Sci-Fi Bookstore you’ll eventually see me pop in. Over the years I’ve been harboring a growing interest in going to a Convention.

Great Expectations! I tend to read allot of movie magazines and frequently visit websites for the latest updates to quench my addiction. What is it about these stories? Why do I love these characters? When does something become a genuine cult classic and why are these things pop icons? Answering those questions aren’t the point. I love ’em cause they are, to coin a new phrase “Jet-Awsome”! Needless to say I had pretty high expectations for what was the norm at such events. Unfortunetly, it has to be said, it pretty much felt like a huge flea market but with some people dressed up as Gordy LeForge. I kinda thought there would be more showcasing of the newest and latest or of the obscure and underrated. But that’s not to say there’s no fun to be had. They have everything from Comics, Movies, Action Figures, Video Games, you name it! Lot’s of official looking Stormtroopers were there to have the picture take with anyone who wanted that.

Celebrities Every year they manage to get some actor who probably hasn’t done anything in a while to sit at a booth and sign autograghs. The actors were:

Lou Ferrigno aka the Incredible Hulk

Anthony Daniels aka C3po

the man inside the robot

Michael Beck from the Warriors (which I’ve never seen.)

Kim Hartman and Richard Gibson in costume as Helga and Herr Flick respectively, which in retrospect is kinda sad when the the most memorable thing you’ve done has you dress like a Nazi. But I digress.

Flick and Helga from 'Allo 'Allo

And the number one reason an average joe like me would take this intrest one step further into geekdom is

Kristianna Loken

and yes she is this hot in real life

One other thing i wanna comment on. Since when is Horror, Sci-Fi? I get that we, as conumers of this type of product, love obsessing over fictional characters and i have been known to enjoy a trashy scare flick now and then. But the biggest problem I have with the idea ofthrowing all of that into the same catagory is Parents. yes some parents bring there kids to the convention. seems harmless enough. they had a video game section where the kiddies can play or get thier face painted. hell they even have disney figurines and such. but when a 9 year old can get his hands on a figurine of one of the many incarnations of the Thing from John Carpenter’s 1982 film or pick up a copy of Savage Streets starring Linda Blair something aint right.

Keep your kids away from the grindhouse section for cryin’ out loud. They’ll learn where baby zombies get there taste for lesbian ninja flesh from soon enough. Intrestingly enought that’s exactly where i found two films I had to buy. One is appropriately titled Killer Klowns from Outer Space. Which is promises to both be pretty twisted and hillarious simultainiously. The other is oddly a family film I grew up with and haven’t seen in decades. Harry and the Henderssons!

I’ll post a review later!

All in all it was a nice expirience to see the extreme side to my hobby.

Leave a Reply

