Project: 80’s Plot Cliché

Do you guys remember those movies (mainly family movies) in the 80’s and 90’s were the lead characters is driven to do some wild things all in the name of saving a youth center, or a small town, or… additional generic sympathy grabbing nobel cause. It’s become a bit of a cliché now, parodied quite well in Ali G Indahouse, and certain episodes of South Park. (Don’t judge me, I like high brow stuff too.) Well leave it to me to liken my life to a fictional family film.

At school we are given a project in which we are to enhance the conditions of Eriksbo. Ok, actually our job is to do a study on what the people of Eriksbo want to happen in thier town’s park and meeting center. Decidedly less dramatic but we have opptions that involve organising something big to get peoples attention and draw them to the park in order for us to do more analysis.

I can’t help but feel it would be great if we went all “Cuckoo’s Nest” on them. You know, just be ourselves in a drab colorless inviornment and inspire life in those around us. Allot of movies use this concept in story telling, Forest Gump, Shawshank Redemption, Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery. Why should real life be any different?

I’m hoping to plan an event that will engage the towns people in a postive way and simultaniously give that park the Makeover it needs. Hopefully when we’re gone the park will just keep on keeping on.

Now we are given a side project we can use to help our larger endevour. Go to the authourities and ask for documents that can help us in the search for funding for this project. If I’m gonna be honest I couldn’t be more… bored. =( I know that this little exorcise is relevant and that I may only appreciate our God given right to know everything once I fully emersed in the drama of it all. I guess I should switch genrés from Family Comedy to Conspiracy Thriller if I’m gonna get through this one… alive!

Is it sick that I’m almost hoping to find that some of the dates on the files we look up coincide with a series unsolved gruesome murders? Well if the richest man in sweden’s private security force is hunting me down in the next couple of days, I’ll be sure to let you all know!

Leave a Reply

